DeutschEnglish

Joomla gallery by joomlashine.com

GS basic


Three Year Retreat

True practice is not to practice. True practice is without practice.
Milarepa

It was a matter of particular concern to the Drikung Kaybgon Chetsang that the Milarepa Retreat Center will be the place in Europe, where the traditional three year retreat may be held. In Tibet, there was an ancient tradition in the Drikung Kagyu school, whereby practitioners were sent into the solitude of the sacred places at Mount Kailash, Lapchi, and Tsari, removed from all people and worldly  distractions, for a three year mediation retreat. In the early 13th century, the lineage founder, Kyobpa Jigten Sumgon, sent three times very large numbers of his students to these sacred places. Today, it is almost impossible for Tibetans to pursue Buddhist practice at these sacred mountains and for Western practitioners, it is even harder. Only in the region of Lapchi, which lies partly on Nepalese territory, the Drikung Kagyu school has rebuilt the ancient retreat center. Nevertheless, it is extremely difficult for Western students to practice at this place for three years.

mila0001.jpg It was the vision of His Holiness the Drikung Kyabgon Chetsang, to establish three retreat centers in the West, corresponding to the three sacred mountains. One of these centers is in the vicinity of Auckland, New Zealand, and it corresponds to the mountain of Lapchi. The second is the Milarepa Retreat Center in Schneverdingen, Germany, and it corresponds to Mount Kailash. The third is in Zalaszántó, Hungary, and it corresponds to Mount Tsari.

Because the Drikung Kyabgon Chetsang related this place to Mount Kailash and because notably Mahamudra meditation will be practiced there, Garchen Rinpoche gave the center the Tibetan name: Drikung Kagyu Gangri Chagchen Dargye Ling - Kailash, the place where Mahamudra is flourishing.

A somewhat secluded building on a shielded portion of the property of the Milarepa Retreat Center will serve for the traditional three year retreat. It will then be the first time that this important spiritual practice in the Drikung Kagyu tradition can be carried out in Europe, in the traditional closed form or in flexible segments.

Participants in such a special and extended retreat are often dependent on support. To keep costs as low as possible for the participants, you can support the three year retreat with a donation. In Buddhist thinking, someone who supports retreat participants in this way, shares the spiritual merit of the practitioners.

If you are interested in the three year retreat yourself, or in supporting practitioners in retreat and would like more information, please contact: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

DeutschEnglish

Joomla gallery by joomlashine.com

GS basic


Drei-Jahres-Retreat

Wahre Praxis ist nicht zu praktizieren. Wahre Praxis ist praxislos.
Milarepa
Es war ein besonderes Anliegen von Drikung Kaybgon Chetsang, dass mit dem Milarepa Retreat Zentrum ein Platz geschaffen wird, an dem in Europa das traditionelle Drei-Jahres-Retreat stattfinden kann. In Tibet gab es eine alte Tradition in der Drikung Kagyu Schule, wonach Schüler in die Einsamkeit der heiligen Berge Kailash, Lapchi und Tsari entsandt wurden, um dort, fernab von allen Menschen und Ablenkungen eine dreijährige Mediationspraxis zu absolvieren. Schon der Liniengründer Jigten Sumgön entsandte Anfang des 13. Jahrhunderts drei Mal eine sehr große Anzahl seiner Schüler an diese heiligen Orte. Heute ist es selbst für Tibeter praktisch unmöglich, an diesen heiligen Bergen der buddhistischen Praxis nachzugehen, für westliche Praktizierende ist es noch schwieriger. Einzig in der Region von Lapchi, die teilweise auf nepalesischem Territorium liegt, hat die Drikung Kagyu Schule das alte Klausurzentrum wieder aufgebaut. Dennoch ist es für westliche Schüler äußerst schwierig und beschwerlich an diesem Ort die Praxis drei Jahre lang auszuüben.

mila0001.jpgEs war die Vision von Drikung Kyabgon Chetsang, im Westen drei Retreat Zentren zu errichten, die in Entsprechung zu den drei heiligen Bergen stehen sollten. Eines entand in der Nähe von Auckland in Neuseeland; es entspricht dem Berg Lapchi. Das zweite ist das Milarepa Retreat Zentrum in der Lüneburger Heide; es entspricht dem Berg Kailash. Das dritte befindet sich im ungarischen Zalaszantó; es entspricht dem Berg Tsari.

Weil Drikung Kyabgon Chetsang diesen Platz zum Berg Kailash in Beziehung setzte und hier die Meditationspraxis der Mahamudra einen wichtigen Stellenwert einnehmen soll, gab ihm Garchen Rinpoche den tibetischen Namen: Drikung Kagyu Gangri Chagchen Dargye Ling – Kailash, der Ort an dem Mahāmudrā gedeiht.

Ein etwas abgelegenes Gebäude auf einem abgeschirmten Teil des Grundstücks im Milarepa Retreat Zentrum wird für das traditionelle Drei-Jahres-Retreat zur Verfügung stehen. Das erste Mal wird es dann möglich sein, diese wichtige spirituelle Praxis in der Drikung Kagyu Tradition in Europa durchzuführen, und zwar sowohl in der traditionellen geschlossenen Form wie auch in Form von flexiblen Segmenten.

Teilnehmer an einem derart langen Retreat sind häufig auf Unterstützung angewiesen. Um die Kosten für die Teilnehmer möglichst gering zu halten, können Sie mit einer Spende das Drei-Jahres-Retreat unterstützen. Nach buddhistischer Vorstellung hat jemand, der auf diese Weise die Retreat-Teilnehmer unterstützt, den gleichen spirituellen Verdienst wie die Praktizierenden.

Wenn Sie Interesse am Drei-Jahres-Retreat oder an der Unterstützung der Praktizierenden im Retreat haben und nähere Auskünfte wünschen, wenden Sie sich bitte an: Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann.